Excellence Awards

October 12, 2016 saw the presentation of the third Excellence Awards at Jungheinrich corporate headquarters in Hamburg before 150 guests and the company founder’s families. The Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrich Foundation was established in 2004 with a view to supporting young talent in the fields of electrical engineering, mechanical engineering and logistics. The Excellence Awards affiliated with the Foundation recognize MINT subject students with outstanding accomplishments in their theses in the fields of mathematics, IT, natural sciences and technology.

Under the motto ‘Back to the Roots,’ Hans-Georg Frey, Chairman of the Board of Management of Jungheinrich AG, spoke about the lifetime achievement of Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrich in his welcoming address. He succeeded in turning a small firm into a global enterprise. This was followed by Thomas Heyn, Chairman of the Board of the Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrich Foundation, announcing the expansion of the activities for the advancement of the sciences and research in the near future.

Afterwards, Prof. Welpe of Munich Technical University presented an overview of the options to promote excellence in science and business. The soirée culminated in the closing remarks by Dr. Oliver Lücke, Member of the Board of Management for Technology at Jungheinrich AG, holding laudatory speeches honouring the award recipients in the Production Automation, Production Management and Technical Logistics categories. The first prize went to Benjamin Küster, scientific assistant at the Hanover Institute for Integrated Production (IPH).

The 150 guests enjoyed the musical accompaniment of the Berlin duo of Michael Riemer (guitar) and Sebastian Caspar (violin) playing their own interpretations of famous classical pieces.

The next award ceremony will be held in the fall of 2018.

Excellence-Awards

Am 12. Oktober 2016 wurden die dritten Excellence Awards in der Jungheinrich-Konzernzentrale in Hamburg vor 150 Gästen und den Familien des Firmengründers verliehen. Um junge Talente aus den Gebieten Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau und Logistik zu unterstützen, wurde im Jahr 2004 die Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrich-Stiftung ins Leben gerufen. Die mit der Stiftung verbundenen Excellence Awards zeichnen Studierende der MINT-Fächer aus, die im Rahmen ihrer Abschlussarbeit in den Bereichen Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik herausragende Leistungen erbracht haben.

Unter dem Motto „Zurück zu alten Wurzeln“ ging Hans-Georg Frey, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Jungheinrich AG, in seiner Begrüßungsrede auf die Lebensleistung Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrichs ein. Diesem war es gelungen, aus einer kleinen Firma ein globales Unternehmen zu schaffen. Thomas Heyn, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Dr. Friedrich Jungheinrich – Stiftung, kündigte im Anschluss an, die Aktivitäten zur Förderung der Wissenschaft und Forschung in naher Zukunft auszuweiten.

Prof. Dr. Welpe von der Technischen Universität in München gab danach einen Überblick über die Möglichkeiten, Excellence in der Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu fördern. Zum krönenden Abschluss des Abends hielt Dr. Oliver Lücke, Vorstand Technik der Jungheinrich AG, die Laudationes auf die drei Preisträger aus den Bereichen Produktionsautomatisierung, Produktionssteuerung und Technische Logistik. Der erste Preis ging an Benjamin Küster, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Integrierte Produktion Hannover (IPH).

Die 150 Gäste wurden von dem Berliner Duo Michael Riemer (Gitarre) und Sebastian Caspar (Violine) mit eigenen Interpretationen bekannter klassischer Werke musikalisch durch die Veranstaltung begleitet.

Die nächste Verleihung findet im Herbst 2018 statt.